HPMS Students Earn Region Band Spots

HPMS Students Earn Region Band Spots  

Dec. 1, 2022 – Several musicians from Hal Peterson Middle School auditioned for the Hill Country Honor Band recently, with eight earning spots in the band.

“These individual students had to practice and prepare two pieces of music plus 7 scales to participate in the audition process,” said Jessica Weinheimer, HPMS Assistant Band Director.  “They all put in so much work before and after school as well as at home to perform at the level that this competition requires, and we couldn't be prouder of them all!”

Those earning spots in the top Symphonic Band include:

Jeslynn Carroll, 1st Chair, Reid Sonnenberg, 1st Chair, and Andres Olguin, 3rd Chair.

Those earning spots in the Concert Band include: Piper Tarnowski, 7th Chair, Michelle Rojas, 8th Chair, Brookelyn Delgado, 5th Chair, Emmie McGowan, 8th Chair, and Wheatlyn Michael, 3rd Chair.

Those placing high enough to earn alternate spots include: Leti Gonzales, Tucker Aldridge and Kailyah Pereze.

Other students auditioning included: Lillian Zamudio, Carli Goodwyn, Molly Dendy, Iresema Alvarado, Emerson Wheatley, and Em Garrett.

The South Texas Region Honor Band clinic and concert will be held at Boerne Middle School North on Saturday, January 28, 2023. The clinic will be during the day, with a cumulative concert open to the public at 4 p.m.

HPMS Region Band-Individuals

Students earning spots in the South Texas Region Honor Bands include, left to right: Brookelyn Delgado, Emmie McGowan, Jeslynn Carroll, Piper Tarnowski, Michelle Rojas, Wheatlyn Michael, Reid Sonnenberg, and Andres Olguin.

HPMS Region Band-Group

Students who auditioned for the South Texas Region Honor Bands include, left to right: Michelle Rojas, Brookelyn Delgado, Jeslynn Carroll, Wheatlyn Michael, Molly Dendy, Leti Gonzales, Reid Sonnenberg, Andres Olguin, and Emerson Wheatly; front, left to right: Iresema Alvarado, Piper Tarnowski, Em Garrett, Kaliyah Perez, Lillian Zamudio, Emmie McGowan, Carli Goodwyn. Not pictured is Tucker Aldridge.