Return to Headlines

Tivy AFJROTC Marks Veterans Day

Written by Cadet Captain Dasia Nieto

On 11 Nov 2020, AFJROTC at Tivy High School led the effort to honor the Tivy High School teachers who are military veterans and our local veterans in Kerrville.  Veterans Day is one the most important days for the THS Corps of Cadets.  Due to COVID-19, a different celebration was planned and executed to honor our veterans on such an important day.   The day started with the AFJROTC Color Guard at Kerrville Peterson Regional Hospital performing a flag security detail where they led a moving tribute.  Cadets replaced the weathered flags flown over the hospital and the Peterson Regional Medical Center Choir sang the Star-Spangled Banner.  Their voices were just as beautiful as the work they do each day. 

The cadets honored each veteran teacher during the morning announcements at THS by providing a brief biography of each teacher’s service in the military and recognized each military veteran who now teaches at the school.  Chief Michael Galifaro, Tivy’s AFJROTC Aerospace Science Instructor, made an incredible lunch for our school veterans and the cadets were honored to serve each of them on this very special day. 

The tribute was just our way to show appreciation for all our veteran’s hard work and sacrifices that they made serving our great nation and now as our teachers.  They are amazing teachers and outstanding influences.  Our teachers not only educate us, they instill discipline, positive attitude, and patience which makes us want to be better and learn!  From protecting our nation to educating our nation's future, they are a perfect picture of selflessness and excellence.  It was an honor to tell them how much we appreciate them. 

On behalf of Tivy’s AFJROTC Corps of Cadets and Tivy High School, “thank you” to all of our local veterans.  You are so appreciated.


Members of the Tivy High School AFJROTC who participated in a special Veterans Day ceremony at Peterson Medical Center on Nov. 11 include, left to right: CMSgt Michael Galifaro, Austin Edgington, Salvador Aguilar, Lee McDonald, Anais Umfress, Jaden Abrigo, Dasia Nieto, Angeleena Del Toro and Jonathan Halpin.